Mumbai thrash Saurashtra, win 40th Ranji Trophy Title


TNI Bureau: Mumbai scored an emphatic innings and 125-run victory over Saurashtra in the final to win the Ranji Trophy for the 40th time. The match ended in less than three days. Saurashtra failed to rise to the occasion in the absence of Cheteshwar Pujara, who was not released by the BCCI, but did not get a chance to play in the ODIs against England.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

Mumbai had won the toss and elected to field first. Saurashtra scored just 148 in the first innings. Aarpit Vasavada scored 55. Dhawal Kulkarni took four wickets. Abhishek Nayar and Dabholkar took two wickets each.

Mumbai scored 355 in the first innings, thanks to Wasim Jaffer’s 132. Hiken Shah scored 55. Makvana took three wickets. In the second innings, Saurashtra bowled out for 82. At one stage, they were 11/5, then slumped to 20/6 and 34/7. Dhawal Kulkarni took five wickets, while Agarkar took four wickets. Wasim Jaffer was declared ‘Man of the Match’.

Leave A Reply