KXIP goes Down, CSK enters CLT20 Final

The Kings XI Punjab, which remained invincible throughout the CLT20 2014, faltered at the final hurdle and meekly surrendered before the Chennai Super Kings. The CSK, with this dominated performance set up a date with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the final.

Support Independent Journalism? Keep us live.

CSKDespite Parvinder Awana’s hat-trick, CSK posted a good total of 182/7 in 20 overs. Faf du Plessis (46), Dwayne Bravo (67) and Ravindra Jadeja (27*) were the top scorers. Awana took four wickets, while Akshar Patel took two. Awana became the second bowler in CLT20 history to take a hat-trick.

Chasing a victory target of 183, KXIP kept losing wickets at regular interval and never remained in the match. At one stage, they were reeling at 34/6. They finally bowled out for 117 in 18.2 overs and lost the match by 65 runs. Akshar Patel was the top scorer with 31, while David Miller scored 22. For CSK, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Pawan Negi and Suresh Raina took two wickets each.

Comments are closed.