News Headlines..Views...Debates...Social Media

Celebrating India’s U-19 World Cup Victory

0 217

TNI Bureau: Celebrations erupted across India today, as the Indian colts led by Unmukt Chand registered a six-wicket victory over defending champions Australia in the final to win the U-19 World Cup. It was India’s third U-19 World Cup victory.

Skipper Unmukt Chand led from the front and scored an unbeaten 111 off 130 balls with 7 boundaries and 6 sixes. He and Smit Patel (62*) added unbeaten 130 runs for the fifth wicket.

India had last won the U-19 World Cup in 2000 and 2008, while they lost to Pakistan in the final in 2006. Three-time champions Australia had never lost in U-19 World Cup final, but this time they had to give in. They were the only unbeaten team in U-19 World Cup 2012 till the final.

Indian skipper Unmukt Chand was declared ‘Man of the Match’, while Australian skipper William Bosisto was declared ‘Player of the Series’.


Australia 225/8 in 50 overs (William Bosisto 87*, Travis Head (37*), Ashton Turner (43*). For India, Sandeep Sharma took four wickets.

India 227/4 in 47.4 overs (Unmukt Chand 111*, Baba Aparajith 33, Smit Patel 62*).

Leave A Reply