Breaking News. Latest News. Online News.

Congress announces Organisational Changes


Soon after the split within the NDA following a break-up between BJP and JD(U), the Congress Party has sounded the poll bugle by announcing big changes at the organisation level. A new Congress Working Committee (CWC) was formed with 21 members, including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and PM Dr. Manmohan Singh.

Congress-HandAjay Maken and Dr. CP Joshi who resigned from the Union Cabinet, have been made part of the CWC. They have been elevated as the General Secretaries. Ajay Maken will oversee the Media Cell, which will be known as Communication Team. Janardan Dwivedi has been given the charge of Organisation and AICC. There are 12 General Secretaries and 42 Secretaries.

Ahmed Patel will continue to be the Political Secretary to Sonia Gandhi, while Ambika Soni will oversee the affairs of CPO (Congress President’s Office). Digvijay Singh has been moved to Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Goa. Dr. CP Joshi will oversee Bihar affairs. Shakeel Ahmed will be in charge of Delhi, Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh. BK Hariprasad will be in charge of Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand.

Madhusudan Mistry will be in charge of Uttar Pradesh. His elevation is seen as a big development in the Congress Party. The Lok Sabha MP from the Sabarkantha constituency of Gujarat, Mistry was given the charge of Uttar Pradesh to counter another strongman from the same state, Amit Shah, who is in charge of BJP in Uttar Pradesh now.

Comments are closed.