News Headlines..Views...Debates...Social Media

3 Odias get National Youth Award


Three youths from Odisha were conferred with the National Youth Award 2011-12. M Tejeswar, Gangadhar Behera and Dhyanananda Panda were among 27 others who received the prestigious award from President Pranab Mukherjee at a function in Rastrapati Bhawan on Thursday.

This was for the first time the President of India conferred the National Youth awards, which instituted in the year 1985. It is conferred on youths every year who used to actively participate in different fields of social and youth developmental activities. The award carries a silver medal, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 40,000 in case of individual awardee and Rs 2 lakh for any voluntary organisation.

M. Tejeswar hails from Boipariguda of Koraput district. The National Youth Award was conferred on him for his outstanding services to the tribal community. The volunteer has organised massive plantation programme in his village, many social and educational development programmes for children and women.

Gangadhar Behera belongs to Kaudiapada village of Cuttack district. He was involved in many awareness programmes for self employment, health, RTI, sports, legal aids for girls and women and environmental issues.

Dhyanananda Panda hails from  Mahavira Pada village of Kalahandi district. He has shown his excellence in many social activities. He had organised blood donation camp, health and awareness camps, and seminars during 2011-12.

Comments are closed.